Categories
Photography

Out and About

Meanwhile, in Helsinki…

40 replies on “Out and About”

Oh what a picture you paint… making even winter sound magical 😊 Thanks!
I like the berries on the blue ground too, but the lighting/exposure is off (an iphone snap) and I have no time or energy for much editing these days (I used to love editing)… but in real life it was a beautiful accidental composition, I shot it as I found it!

Liked by 1 person

Oh! These are so beautiful. One surprise after another. Fun sidewalk drawing, fall leaves, and that unique angle of the lavender stool? – These 3 are my faves.

Liked by 1 person

Thanks for coming along! 3C in the mornings, yellow leaves… definitely not summer anymore! But still not completely dark – yes, the light is still here 😊
Yksityisalue=private property. In that photo, my eye was drawn to the wall behind part of the door. All in all, not inviting! Hahah

Liked by 1 person

Alue is property in this case, more often it’s area. Finnish isn’t related to any major languages (Hungarian, they say, but to us that seems alien. Estonian is quite similar to Finnish.) But Finland has two official languages and the second one, Swedish, is much easier for foreign visitors to guess! Swedish is very similar to English actually! 😊

Liked by 1 person

Yes, you are right, Swedish “looks” like english. Both are “germanic” languages actually. The trick is to identify the “radical” in the word: Tak = Danke = Dank U = Thank… (Latin has always helped me in that respect, but I think Finnish will elude me…)
A bientôt Lumi

Liked by 1 person

I’ve been catching up with all your posts of the last couple of months, I loved this collection of images from everyday moments. It’s like going on a walk with you. 🙂 It’s also interesting to see that the way you look at the city shifted a bit since you had that friend visit and you had to look at Helsinki with different eyes.

Liked by 1 person

That’s right, blogs are the perfect archive to store the evolution of someone’s skills. Do I miss blogging? Good question!
👇
Well, yes & no. I don’t because I have been sharing photos on Instagram and using the captions as mini blog posts. So I’m still active online, I connect with people, I share photos I take + things that are on my mind and real conversations start from that – which gives me what I had with the blog. However, there’s a lot happening on Instagram at the same time, there are more people over there and that means a lot of “fake engagement”. What I mean by that is even if people are leaving a comment, it doesn’t mean they are really paying attention. And that’s what I miss from the blog, anyone who would take the time to read my blog posts and commenting was actually invested in connecting with me. On the blog things weren’t as fast-paced and I never got that feeling of “this person clearly didn’t read what I just said”. But for now I choose to ignore the crowd on IG and focus on the few that really care to interact in a authentic way. 😊

Liked by 1 person

Good choice, to focus on those few!
I got exactly the same impression during my brief experiment with IG. And I didn’t have any real conversations. One new follower who isn’t on the blog world and who seemed genuine, and who I now don’t have contact with. The rest are on WordPress too and I’d rather connect over here.
As I started writing more posts lately, instead of photo posts, I’ve been amazed that my followers really do read them!! My long, silly ramblings. It’s humbling and I feel grateful to have found such a great community here!

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.