Categories
City Life

Jellyfish Jumpers and Sunglass Swimmers

The big, orange jellyfish were invisible to the teenagers jumping into the sea, but they were the first thing I noticed.

How could you swim amongst them and not wonder what a jellyfish hug would feel like? Were their long, stingy tentacles warm or cold? Might the jellies try to give you a tickle?

The orange creatures were probably silently cursing. Noisy humans getting entangled in them must be as annoying as knots in long hair or leaves caught in a spider web.

I could barely lift my eyes off the floating jellyfish while I was walking on the wooden planks above the water. A quick check: Blue ones not stingy, orange ones stingy. These were most certainly orange, but perhaps the locals knew what they were doing.

I carefully tucked my phone away, since the planks’ spaces were just the right size for slippery, escape-plotting phones. The sea bottom must be full of them. I imagined jellyfish reading long lost Whatsapp conversations in the fading blue lights of phones blinking sleepily.

The harbour of Copenhagen, right next to my hotel, was a vibrant place for a walk. But beauty is in the eye of the beholder – an acquaintance had stayed at the same hotel and told me how boring Copenhagen was. “All the buildings looked the same.” I nodded, but didn’t really agree. During my walks, I’d marvelled at the new architecture and its urban quirkiness. It paired well with the old buildings and had in no way been boring, from where I was standing.

While my acquantaince was telling me of her experience, I pictured the little triangle-shaped area at the bottom of an office building where we ran to shelter from rain. Opposite, another building showed off intricate elephant decorations. My kid stood there, wiggling his wobbling upper tooth, and I took a photo.

The teenagers jumping into the harbour were living life to its fullest, it seemed. Those noisy and splashy jumps on a chilly, grey summer day would be moments they’d remember when they were older. The freedom of that summer. They weren’t glued to their phones like I was.

A month later, I was swimming in one of Helsinki’s few outdoors pools. I have a love-hate relationship with this pool, a place where people compete in levels of seriosity. My level of seriosity was low, since I was wearing my big, Hollywood sunglasses and mismatching bikinis. I’m always impressed at how the sunnies stay on even when I duck underwater to change lanes.

The serious, road raging type of swimmer is never seen without goggles. Usually this species can be recognized by the addition of a swimming cap and sporty swimwear.

Goggles: Feisty. Sunglasses: Hedonistic. The goggled specimen are occasionally seen to jump on or swim over their uncompetitive counterparts. Stinging tentacles would be useful.

What kind of swimmer are you?

59 replies on “Jellyfish Jumpers and Sunglass Swimmers”

I love the idea of jellyfish reading messages on sunken moblile phones. 🙂 Or the one working in stock market, holding 8 phones at the same time. ( I just read octopusses have 9 (!) brains.) I’m not a swimmer at all. When I was a teenager me and my mates hung out in the local swimming pool, and yes, we did do the occasional dip, but our testosterone filled eyes were mainly glued to fairytale creatures called girls. When they went to actually swim, we of course went too, but mostly they just lay around looking studiedly bored. Ah, those summers! But swimming has never been on my to do list ever after. Cool story, Snow, and lovely pictures!

Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading, Peter – again ☺️ Swimming is always on my to do list, I’ve never had enough. I like to do laps for 45 min. There’s always someone showing off how fast they are. They swim 2-3 laps, then they get tired and go. But in the pool, they just push everyone aside 🙄 I wish I had my own pool! 😃 I actually worked at a job once that had a private pool we could use and I was usually the only one there – bliss.

Liked by 3 people

Swimming with the jelly fish, visualising those tiny gaps through which slippery phones plot escape (my nightmare too), the WhatsApp messages drawing the undersea audience, the sunken phones glowing in the dark. Your words took me to places where I didn’t know my mind wanted to go. Fantastic, Snow!

Liked by 1 person

Gotta be careful around jellyfish unless you know which is which. In the Azores, I saw a man scale a vertical harbor wall after being stung by a Portuguese Man Of War, which is not really a jellyfish. I’m not much of a swimmer, but when snorkeling, which I love, I rarely use my arms but just putter along with the gentle motion of my fins. I must say I’m impressed you wear sunglasses in the pool!

Liked by 1 person

I got into trouble once at a public pool as I was swimming on the “wrong side”. Jellyfish? they’ll kill you here in australia 🙂

Liked by 1 person

I spent my formative years in Australia, so swimming with jellyfish is something that would never occur to me! Same with spiders, though I know Nordic ones aren’t poisonous, the idea to stay away is firmly embedded deep in my mind. And I marvel at people who don’t have the same self-preservation instinct, like my Finnish hubby who says I’m paranoid. Nope, I’m just smart! 😀

Like

Sunglass swimmer, the first I’ve ever heard of. Impressed! How cool if the sunglass has mini wiper attached to it. 😎 I’m the swimmer who floats on the back. Occasionally with one hand, head above the water. a cup of hot coffee on the other hand swimming across the waterfall.

Liked by 1 person

Oh, I’m not the only sunglass swimmer at that pool, far from it! We’re a whole genre 😁 Our eyes aren’t accustomed to sunlight, and it’s coming from a low angle 🤷‍♀️ But your type of swimming, now THAT’s impressive! Floating with a coffee at a waterfall, I’d like to try that!!

Liked by 1 person

You’ll need some darker sunglass shade when swimming in tropical pool! Haha, cool. I shall give it a try one day and hope it won’t fall off to the bottom of the waterfall. The temptation to sip hot coffee while sitting under the chilling drops of waterfall is insanely irresistible😁

Liked by 1 person

Oh, most definitely orange! 😮 I have yet to spot a jellyfish this year, after there were so many last year, luckily the non-stinging kind (translucent, though). As for the type of swimmer: arrive at the beach (haven’t been in a pool in the last decade)-wade in-keep my distance from everybody-swim underwater because mermaid-float-float some more-swim a little more-shiver-exit-go home type of swimmer (helps that we live 5 minutes from the sea here in Piran). Also, those buildings were not the same if you looked carefully enough. Not boring. On your side.

Liked by 1 person

I am no jellyfish but it would be fun jumping in those canals. I lost a cap there once but didn’t jump in to retrieve it. Love the photos and the architecture. I will remember that when I am old as old age is not so far away.

Liked by 1 person

It looked too cold and grey for me, I wouldn’t jump in. (Plus the jellyfish!) But I like that they had these marked areas and sea pools where people could swim, if they wanted to.
My kids have lost several caps to the sea over here, the wind likes to snatch them!

Liked by 1 person

But sat on by cats, pecked by chickens, butted by sheep, and treated like a walking buffet by the flies. 🙂

I think the last time I was in a pool was probably about 25 years ago in New Zealand when we went out there to visit my partner’s grandmother. It’s amazing how light-headed you can get in a pool heated off the local hot springs to very close to normal body temperature.

Liked by 1 person

Being sat on by multiple cats is normal here. We are now down to three cats, and all of them have their own way of explaining things.
They particularly like explaining that stuff on your plate ought to be mine. 🙂

Liked by 1 person

No way I’d be jumping in with jellyfish, no matter what their color! I used to be a googles type of swimmer, competing up until university days. Now I’m on your team … when I am brave enough to get into a cold pool! I’ve gotten very wimpy (bad) but I’m happy to have lost the old competitive nature in the pool.

Liked by 1 person

Hahaha I’m definitely not a road raging swimmer. This is an entertaining post, Snow. Oh I fear jellyfish, I’ve seen a boy who collapsed in a resort in Indonesia a few years back. Very scary. But I’ve never seen an orange jelly fish. I’ve been big blue ones, lots of gray and the very transparent ones. 🙂

Liked by 1 person

Oh you were in Denmark! How nice and swimming with the boys too.Lovely summer memories. I have seen Jellyfish quite often. When we visited Holland last late Spring, there were lots of Jellyfish in the shore and we stay out of it cuz locals says they really sting. On the other side, I have seen so many jellyfish in an aquarium somewhere in Nürnberg, Münich and even in the Philippines and Kuwait. I love looking at them swimming but never dare to touch them.They make it more appealing to tourists so they put lights on it so there is a show of dancing jellyfish…I love the calmn moves they´ve made.. they are very graceful swimmers.
Me, I love snorkeling and dipping into waters but I am not as good as you in swimming.

Liked by 1 person

I’ve seen lots of jellyfish, too, but having grown up in Australia, the idea is implanted deep in my mind that this is an animal I shouldn’t touch. (Not that touching any wild animal is good, actually.) For some reason, Finns (and apparently Danes, too) have missed this life lesson. Last week, I saw some late summer swimmers jump into the sea over here, just after I’d spotted about 100 little white jellyfish in it. Probably those ones are harmless, but it feels the same to me as putting a spider on my head or worms in my sandwich: just no no no no…. Then, the next day I watched an educative kids’ program with my sons and lo and behold, in the show there was a 5-y.o. Finnish girl snorkeling in a swimsuit amongst the same kind of white jellyfish… It’s funny but after all these years, I still have these culture shock moments when I think these Nordic people are crazy! 😅

Liked by 1 person

It’s an interesting observation. Here in our mediterranean sea we have more and more jellyfish from year to year. Probably due to the whole climate changes. Most of these are just white, as usual absolutely invisible in the open sea, but sometimes there are deep white or more dangerous blue ones. About the falling phones – sounds not nice to lose one during the visit in foreign country, when people have just everything within these phones
I’m slowly walking through your blog posts and love your narrative about the trips.

Liked by 1 person

Thanks, Victor, for browsing through these posts of mine and commenting! About jellyfish being more common in the Mediterranean, it’s funny you mentioned that because I was just thinking that I’ve never seen as many jellyfish here in Finland (where I live) as I did this year. And they always come with friends. (I googled what is a school of jellyfish called and the answer is -believe it or not – a smack!) I’d often see a smack (really?!) of jellyfish and try to count them, only to notice it was an impossible task. At least 50 or close to 100 little white ones were visible each time, just by looking at the surface. Climate change for sure, what else could it be?

Liked by 1 person

i never tried to count them;-)))
some days tons of them are lying on the sand thrown out by the waves. Very different sizes – from tiny to one meter. Very strange that we have not found a way to use them as food. Or there are some countries where people eat them?
My pleasure. I enjoy reading your stories from trips.

Liked by 1 person

seems like pure protein as many sea food products.. Its easy to find on the internet – “Certain species of jellyfish are not only safe to eat but also a good source of several nutrients, including protein, antioxidants, and minerals like selenium and choline. The collagen found in jellyfish may also contribute to health benefits like reduced blood pressure”
But the idea about eating these creatures is not the best looking and feeling ones. 😉

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.