Categories
Life

Turtle Season

My favourite bench is shaped like a lounge chair and it faces the morning sun. I’ve been spotted there with and without my laptop, chatting on my phone, and simply soaking in the rare warm rays, face turned upwards like a sunflower. Behind my large sunglasses that leave panda tan lines, my eyes are shut. I’m there, and I’m not there.

The last time I sat at this spot, I noticed a woman just in front of me, 10 meters away. She was standing in the middle of the lawn next to a tree. Around that tree, there was a wild collection of tall flowers. She was in no hurry, just lingering, loitering, standing. Like me, she was a sunflower, too, with her face raised towards the sun.

She looked serene. But also out of place.

Why was she on the lawn? Why didn’t she sit down? Did she miss the countryside so much that she decided to step onto the lawn, as close to the flowers as she could get? Was she barefooted?

It felt like I was watching a French movie where you had to guess the ending just by looking at the main character’s facial expression in the closing scene.

I love French movies. And I couldn’t stop staring from behind my large, dark sunglasses.

I saw her glancing at the flowers every now and then. And then I noticed that she had a little carrier box. Ahah! Maybe she has a cat! But I can’t see it. Surely a cat would move around?

My mind moved onto guessing cloud shapes and plane destinations and I left her to it.

After what felt like forever, she bent down and lifted up a tiny green thing with a shell on its back and a twitching little nose. Her pet turtle. He was sniffing the air as he was suddenly lifted up from his adventure amongst the flowers and placed in the plastic carrier box. They headed home, I presume (or perhaps towards new adventures).

I could just imagine his little feet gently patting the grass as he raised his head and investigated this flower and that. It must’ve been a tiny slice of turtle paradise to be dropped in the middle of tall flowers.

The next day, I attended park yoga. “Breathe in the fresh air,” the instructor said, and I did. I watched birds circle up in the blue sky far, far away from me. Free as a bird is what I felt.

There’s something so different about doing yoga outdoors. So much better. With our hands, we pushed the air from the side to the front in slow, flowing movements, and I could feel all the knots untie.

“Thank yourself for showing up,” she said, and I did.

A couple of days later, I was riding my bike when I noticed something happening in a grassy area between buildings. A family was gathered there and an older man was explaining something to two children who seemed incredibly excited. The man then reached into a carrier box and placed something on the grass.

I smiled knowingly when I saw what it was.

A little pet turtle. This was turtle season for sure.

(The photos are from Finland, a couple of years ago.)

62 replies on “Turtle Season”

I love turtle season! There, I imagine it’s winding down, so I’m sure you’re hanging onto as much fresh air, flowers, balmy blue skies, and outdoor time in general as you can. Enjoy … too soon it will be hibernation season!

Liked by 3 people

I read somewhere that people remember negative feedback longer than positive feedback. I think it’s the same in general, with events/moments/news. So easy to find information and content that makes you anxious and that anxiety stays with you. Whereas blissful moments need to be actively sought out or deliberately noticed and even then they seem to fade away quickly. I’m trying to train myself to think more positively!

Liked by 3 people

Good for you! I think it might be too late for me to change my ways. The negative stuff doesn’t make me anxious, but I do find it depressing. Rather than take in too much news, I try and focus on things I enjoy: hiking, snorkeling, and just appreciating the natural world.

Liked by 1 person

This is beautifully written, Snow. I can see, feel, smell the greenness surrounding you, the sunlight upon everything, the peace of it all. And I imagine hte lady with her turtle on their way to new adventures. Oh, and the photo’s match the story perfectly!

Liked by 3 people

The Lady and the Turtle – An Amazing Story of a Silent Friendship 😃 And off they went! She held onto her hat as she stopped for a moment to decide where next. Her eyes lit up as the idea came to her: Yes, that would be the perfect destination. The turtle’s blanket waved in the wind, goodbye park! She hastened her pace.
🤪 Thanks, Peter, for reading. There’s always adventure to be found.

Liked by 2 people

Your writing is so evocative, I could easily visualize what you were describing. I also love the notion of turning our faces toward the light like sunflowers. And when unexpected things happen not once, but twice, such as the turtle incidents, it always feels like a special gift.

Liked by 3 people

This is a lovely post that has made me feel relaxed about these summer days. I like the “Thank yourself for showing up” idea meant for the moment in yoga class I realize. But could be useful as a positive way to talk to yourself elsewhere as a reminder to appreciate the effort you put into things.

Liked by 2 people

Snow, what a beautiful story! I could imagine everything- the sun warming my bones , the turtle sniffing the air, delicately putting its foot forward, the green grass, the wild flowers. Just made feel so warm, cozy and weirdly contented. Happiness found in simple, random moments. Fabulous piece.

Liked by 2 people

I found myself completely drawn into your narrative, eagerly guessing her story from behind your oversized sunglasses. And then the revelation about the pet turtle – what an unexpected twist!

Thank you for sharing these enchanting stories.

Liked by 2 people

I am glad you like Outdoor Yoga. It is fun and I also love to practice by the water and watch the sun come up. Truly magical. Being wintertime, we have to be careful that we don’t overstretch in our current classes, as it is still cold – cool by your standards. Sounds like you do vinyasa style too?

Liked by 1 person

Hmm, I think it’s hatha yoga. Not a vinyasa flow really. But that one movement I described is like tai chi and I love it. It’s like we’re pulling air ever so slowly and shifting it to where we want it. For some reason, doing that is very relaxing

Like

Hatha yoga is what I learnt for years around here, so I don’t know why Vinyasa has taken off recently. Almost every class around now, seems to practice Vinyasa.
I think yoga is a great form of exercise that increases our oxygen levels, blood flow and endorphins so hopefully it is relaxing for most people. It just clicked as a sensible thing to do, as a person not really that interested in sports.
Years ago, I was told that if you could hold the downward facing dog position for 30 minutes it could cure a depression! I suppose it does get the blood flowing to the brain, but I have never tried to reach the 30 minute mark. More like 1.5 minutes…..

Liked by 1 person

the scenery looks so beautiful here. I love that yellow house. And what a wonder – to have a turtle season. Perhaps they were terrapins in fact? Or not …

Liked by 1 person

Snow this is beautifully written, I was there with you too. I could imagine the sunflower with wide sunglasses looking up at the sky. :). This morning I did yoga, it was indoor though. I wish I could do the outdoor yoga here too, but I’m afraid it would be too humid. I could only imagine how nice it must be to do yoga outdoor in a 20 degree weather. What kind of yoga do you do? Mine’s vinyasa and I started only this year.

Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much, dear friend! 💕 I don’t really know what kind of yoga it was, hatha maybe? I was only able to attend a few times, since our summers are so short. Another looooong wait til next time, unfortunately! But yoga indoors is lovely, too. And even at home. Have you ever tried Yoga With Adriene videos? She is so sympathetic. (The videos are free, you can find them on youtube, no need to even sign up!)

Liked by 1 person

No I haven’t done Adiene’s but I will check it out, thanks for the recommendation. I started with FitOn (free app as well) a year before covid doing just pilates, barre and weights. And this year I discovered the beauty of yoga with Virgin Active. By the way has fall arrived in your part of the world? You know I’ve always looked forward to your fall blogs right? Hope to read and see a lot from you this year (demanding much?) 🙂

Liked by 1 person

Fall is starting and it’s usually a pretty season. But if the rain continues, no new photos because I stay indoors when it rains 😅 We’ll have to see – if I get the chance and see something interesting, I’ll snap some pics for sure! 🍁🌿🍃 You should come over and take some pics for yourself! 😋

Liked by 1 person

You are such a natural storyteller. I just love your writing. I have to say there is something very delicious about being in nature whilst reaching into contact with our inner edges; expanding your horizon, stretching just beyond your comfort zone and making space for yourself to become totally present. And there’s nothing like the smell of morning dew on the ground, deliciously fresh air, and warm sunshine to infuse new life into your yoga practice. Thanks for sharing and have a good day 🙂 Aiva xx

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.