Categories
City France

Paris Is Still Paris

For a while, a certain feeling had been lingering about.

The feeling that you get after finishing a great book or a long TV series, already nostalgic for more and knowing that the world that charmed you has evaporated for good. Wishing you were one of the less troubled, recurring side characters, appearing briefly in large sunglasses after a lazy beach day or sipping champagne at an art gallery’s party, looking like you belonged there.

Paris was on my mind. The city, for me, felt a bit like that favourite series. A place that I used to visit all the time, where I even worked for brief moment in my life, it now seemed so intangible like none of it ever happened. My last visit was astonishingly long ago, since the years seem to be going faster and faster.

I remembered My Paris in a certain way, and could even place myself there in my mind. But the details were blurred and I wondered if reality would be something totally different. A few weeks ago, I finally booked a long overdue Paris trip, last minute.

The day arrived and suddenly I was there, just like a magic trick. It was only a flight away, after all. The very first thing I did was to go see the Luxembourg Park. I don’t know why, but it was calling me.

The park was still there. Kids were still floating boats in the water. Someone took a photo of the cute stand renting toy boats and I couldn’t bring myself to do the same immediately after, though I was tempted.

The last time I was at the Luxembourg Park, no one was taking photos for social media. My photo memories are blurred snaps, poorly aimed, but there’s one of my friend and me sitting down at a green table for coffee, paused in eternal youth. The kids floating boats last time must now be on the brink of adulthood.

Time has passed but Paris is still Paris.

This time at the park, instead of coffee with a friend, I made a video call to my kids. “The Eiffel tower’s in the background!” I said. “What, where? That little needle?” said hubby, unimpressed. My kids reminded me to bring them back Eiffel tower keyrings decorated with diamonds. Someone at daycare had one and they wanted exactly the same.

Paris was the perfect place for some me time, since I already knew the city. It turns out, I still enjoy solo travel. The hours flew by, I walked 22000 steps each day, everyone I met was very friendly, and everything I ate was very delicious. Croissants were still fresh and some of the larger shops still occupied the same spaces on rue de Rivoli. But the crowds of tourists had grown and visiting a museum spontaneously was no longer feasible.

Who would I be if I had stayed there? Would I be sipping champagne or dressing my twins in neat French clothing? Would I resort to botox like an old friend I met up with, looking as chic as ever? Paris is dreamy, but it always reminds me of the other side of life. There are so many homeless people if you choose to seem them and I always think how easy it would be to slip into oblivion like that. Lose a job, have no network or social services, and life could quickly become very grim.

Paris isn’t an Instagram dream, it’s just a city with its ups and downs. A city that ages well, no botox needed. Next time, I might take my kids, if it seems peaceful.

58 replies on “Paris Is Still Paris”

I’m going to Paris next week, and am relieved to learn from your post that Paris is still Paris. (I hope the garbage collectors are no longer on strike.)

Liked by 1 person

I saw no garbage piles. 😊 You’ll be able to enjoy it just like before. I did, however, see the protestors twice, but they are so loud you can easily step off their path in time. Also saw 2 Seine bridges armed with riot police and their myriad of gear, waiting for the protestors… The metro had some disturbances due to the strikes. Mostly airport transport was what I worried about and with the odd flight times I got at the last minute, I ended up taking a pre-booked taxi both ways. Bon voyage, enjoy!

Liked by 1 person

Airport transport is not my problem, since I am coming by train and my hotel is right in front of the station. (Assuming the train drivers don’t go on strike.)

Liked by 1 person

I am so glad to read that you managed to go despite the apprehensions you had about the strikes there 😀. You know this song “I love Paris in the Spring time,…,” 😀. Well, anyway, I don’t think I like Paris that much as the song says but it’s an interesting city. I’ve been there only twice and the second time, I found a mini-India 😂 (behind Gare-du-Nord). You can read about my trips here – you’ll see the contrast of experience between the first time in 2005 and second time in 2018.
https://reflectionsontheriver.wordpress.com/tag/Paris/?orderby=date&order=asc

Liked by 1 person

I love Paris (and France) and I’m happy to see you write that the people were friendly. This idea has persisted that Parisians are not friendly and that’s never been my view or experience.
I’m sorry to hear you say that people have no social services. I thought those were fairly hefty over there, but maybe I’m generalizing from other European countries…

Liked by 1 person

I have no real idea about French social services, but from the amount of people appearing to live on the street or in random tent villages by the highway, they obviously aren’t getting much help. Over here in Finland, you don’t see homeless people like that – probably due to the cold weather. They stay in shelters and not on the street. Our social services pay for an apartment, but of course if you are really out of it, the bureaucracy of applying might be problematic. Only in recent years have we received beggars from abroad but they aren’t sitting on their beds like the Parisian ones are. They too could benefit from our social services if they applied for them, but it’s probably a matter of language barriers.

Liked by 2 people

So you went after all. Very good. It’s lovely to be back in a place where good memories live. You did walk a lot! But then, Paris is made for walking. Laat time in was in the city I stayed in a hotel at Place de Republique. and walked every day to where I wanted to go . (One day, not paying attention, I ended up in Lyon!) It never bored me, there is so much to see. As you neat pictures show!

Liked by 1 person

Remembered Paris is the same for me–snapshots of me and a friend taken by strangers, in the era before selfies. My friend had a real camera and was a little artsy; some are even in black and white, making them look even more timeless.

Liked by 2 people

Timeless photos can be so cool, even looking at photos of people you don’t know. I saw a photo exhibition a while ago of people going about their lives in Chicago in the 1930’s or something. Sometimes the clothes gave away the era, but sometimes it looked like it could be today. Incredible to think that pretty much every one of those people are gone now. Even the little kids would be close to 100.

Liked by 1 person

The last time I was in Paris I had an upsetting encounter with a pickpocket who couldn’t have been more than thirteen. We were on the metro and as the metro police dragged her as she screamed for me to “save her.” Paris always has that feeling of luxurious decay.

Liked by 1 person

Earlier this month I took the Eurostar to Paris. I spent one day because my eventual destination with the South of France. It was my first time in Paris. I stayed close to the Arc de Triomphe and had a private tour of the city for a very reasonable price. I enjoyed the short time spent there.

Liked by 1 person

I hope you get the chance to. It was lovely to see that it was exactly the same. Even my home town has changed. Someone said to me that cities as old as Paris don’t change because there is no new construction being done. The secret of eternality.

Liked by 1 person

Paris in springtime sounds nice. I keep saying we’ll go back & hubby keeps saying ‘mmhumbey’ Funny since he’s he one with family there …
Glad to hear that the strikes & protests didn’t affect you. It’s hardly ever as bad as the news media make it out to be.

Liked by 1 person

True. Media can really exaggerate the point they want, which is a bit scary. It really was just like any spring visit, except that I arrived during Easter and the town was almost deserted. Which was a nice and peaceful way to start the visit! The larger stores were still open, but without the crowds.

Like

I know that “at a loss” feeling at finishing a book or series. And I know that wishing to travel. I was in Paris not long ago (second time) and walked those 22K-24K step days too. It was sad to see all the protection and x-ray machines around my favorite sites. The Eiffel Tower – which used to stand magestically alone – is now skirted around with barriers and guards. And the sad Notre Dame still stood hollow and baracaded.
Thanks for your well written and enjoyable posts!

Liked by 1 person

I’m quite happy about the x-rays, since I feel more secure that way. The last time I visited (and why I had such a long break in between visits) there were horrible terror attacks (2015). But meanwhile, people – including families with kids – have been going on with their lives. It’s the same with London: there’s always a threat of nutcases in large cities. So I vote yes for x-ray machines and security control! 😊 (But I mean, it’s still more likely we die in our homes or in our car than in a terror attack, so…) Yikes, how did I get to this grim viewpoint?! 😀 Anyway, thanks for your comment!

Like

This is where our interests differ. Strangely, I love visiting Europe and Scandi destinations, but I have never been interested in visiting France.Geneva was close enough for me. Presumably because of all the hype that surrounds Paris. Yuk. And the giant foot and civil unrest seems to confirm it.. but that is me. I will take a snow covered Scandi hytte or Swiss cottage any time though.
I am glad you got away for some ‘me’ time to somewhere you could enjoy. I remember a similar ‘me’ experience one summer in Helsinki, 😉 without the riot police and with some cooler temps of course.

Liked by 1 person

I remember that oddity about you 😜 For me, France and the French language hold a special place in my heart. When I’d moved to Finland from Australia, I went to a language-oriented school, because I didn’t fit into the regular Finnish one I tried. Finns are not very warm or welcoming and no one understood me or in any way noted that I had just moved from the other side of the world. Anyway, we started studying French as an extra foreign language at that school when I was 11. And language classes also dive into culture. So French is a part of my childhood and I have fond memories of hearing of how the French celebrate Xmas, watching old movies, playing petanque and ordering a French comic book home. Then, in my 20’s, I lived in France for several years, studying and working. So I have very fond memories. My favourite is Montpellier, but unfortunately it costs over 1000 euros to fly there from Helsinki! So Paris it is. And Paris is lovely, the city where I had such a good time for so long. There’s an endless amount of things to do. It’s quite the opposite of boring little Helsinki and so is the culture. Over here, newcomers aren’t welcomed or asked to join in anything and nobody says g’day/bonjour to you on the street. It’s like I tell my kids: you can’t say you don’t like a food if you’ve never tasted it 😊

Liked by 2 people

That is true. I cannot say I wouldn’t like Paris until I had been there. I thought I would like to visit Thailand but was sorely disappointed and it was far too hot for me. I found many Germans standoffish but the Finnish hotel staff and stall owners and my Finnish friend were all chatty and friendly. I don’t think I talked to anyone else. That is okay. I was a foreigner.

Liked by 1 person

Hotel staff are usually the type that enjoy customer service and speaking different languages. That’s what I loved about working in the travel industry: like-minded colleagues. It isn’t always like that, far from it. Oh, and I didn’t love Thailand either, but even in places that I visited and didn’t love to bits, there were always things to like, if you give them a chance. As for Paris, it’s a bustling metropolis, and it doesn’t have any tourist vibes to it if you stay away from the attractions. I don’t visit the attractions (there would be no point, once you’ve seen them) and I just try to blend in and speak French and do normal things.

Like

That’s a good point, Snow and I do agree. Even when you don’t like a place, there are certain things to appreciate, observe and like in cities and Thailand is an example of that. I imagine I would totally love the French bakeries and cafes, for example. I did find it interesting that despite the weather in some Euro and Scandi places, they stubbornly maintain cafes with outdoor seating. I love the sitteunderlag (reindeer pelt) and blankets provided at the al fresco cafes in Norway and Sweden. So defiant in the face of bad weather or rain.

Liked by 2 people

I love your Paris musings. Your words and photos took me right there. I spotted several magnificent doors and entrances. Merci! And that foot! I don’t remember that foot! What is it near, please? And in the last photo I can spot the top of a magnificent door. 😀 I’m so glad that your getaway was peaceful and yummy and that you’re taking your rock stars along next time.

Liked by 1 person

I think the foot was somewhere near St Germain, but I can’t remember exactly. And yes, the door in the last one – do you know what attracted me to it? In the photo, it looks like it has eyes (to me, at least, it looks like that). Like he’s the house monster keeping watch lf whoever enters 😉🤪
I was thinking of doors there, but didn’t really focus on them because there were too many magnificent ones, and often they were too large to even capture properly. Lots of them were different shades of blue, which I liked.

Liked by 1 person

I’m so glad you got a little dose of alone time in a city you love (and that it turned out to still be fun to have solo time in a city you still love!). I wonder how long it’s been since I’ve been in Paris … I’m guessing about 10 very long years … and now you are enticing me to go back and just walk with no big agenda just to see those grand old buildings and their big awnings that you captured so beautifully in your photos!

Liked by 1 person

Walking with no agenda (except maybe food) is great! I was actually planning on doing some shopping but didn’t end up doing that much of it – the walking took so much time. But it was something I really longed for. Maybe it’s time you go back there, too?

Liked by 1 person

My college roommate’s daughter is getting married in early September in Brittany, so I think I HAVE to sneak in a day or two in Paris! That’ll be a beautiful time of year to be there, and if I fly across the ocean, I might as well take a few extra days! (I’m practicing convincing my husband …) 🙂

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.