Categories
Life Spain

Differences In Taste

My friend was just telling me about trying ceviche in Lisbon. I remember ceviche from my travels, but not because I ever tried it. Made of raw fish, it seemed too risky!

And it had nothing to do with being more careful in a foreign place, I’m like this at home, too. Let me tell you about a Christmas lunch at work last year.

A consulting agency we use had booked a Finland-themed Michelin star restaurant for my team. Our starter, a tiny plate of fish, was accompanied by slices of fresh bread in a basket and a white spread. I assumed it was home-made garlic butter.

I took a piece of bread and applied the creamy spread generously. Just as I was taking my first bite, however, I felt an unwanted sensation on my tongue. The spread was room temperature. I’d expected it to be cold. In the split second before starting to chew, I automatically raised my napkin and… I smoothly spit out the mouthful. I hope it was discreet, but who knows.

I spit out food in a Michelin star restaurant surrounded by business associates!

It’s fair to say, this wasn’t my proudest moment. But it wasn’t planned, either. It was just an honest reaction.

I then proceeded to sit through the entire lunch with my napkin politely folded on my lap, except for the crumpled end which contained food that had been in my mouth!

Why was the spread warm? What was it? Warm mayo will give you food poisoning and warm cream cheese doesn’t sound any more tempting. I wouldn’t even eat butter that has sat out so long it’s melted.

Would you have eaten it? Would you have even noticed? I wish I could be the kind of person who doesn’t notice!

The images here are all from the Alhambra in Spain, except the last two, which are from Granada on the same day in February. The Alhambra was a place I’d wanted to visit for at least two decades. And with my expectations so high, I must admit a bit of a disappointment. Based on images I’d seen, I imagined especially the gardens to be larger and more impressive. I was expecting to be utterly amazed.

And that’s never a good starting point.

In reality, the larger gardens didn’t seem to be tended to. The palaces were full of tourists and you were guided in a certain direction with ropes, so you couldn’t move freely.

I thought of my trip to Istanbul years ago, which had been another scoop of warm butter in my mouth, not my taste at all. But there, the Topkapi Palace had been well worth the visit. It was more impressive than the Alhambra, in my opinion. Perhaps simply because I had seen it first.

That day at the Alhambra with hubby, I was freezing. There was a woman from Alaska who offered to take our photo and we had a chat. She said, “You’re from Finland and you’re cold in Spain?” I asked her about her weather back home. She said they had -60 degrees.

“Oh, I have no clue about Fahrenheit, what is that in Celsius?”
“It’s the same in Celsius once it goes below zero.”
“What?!?!?”
“Yes, it’s the same.” (I later speed-googled this and it didn’t appear to be exactly the same, but Fahrenheit is so confusing and I didn’t have a lot of time, so I’m still not sure.)
“You can have -60°C over there????”
“Yes, we did just this winter.”

Later on, hubby and I were talking about this. I was marvelling at how a human being could even survive in weather like that and he suspected it was a tall story, or as Finns poetically say, “fish talk.” Like fishermen exaggerating the size of their catch.

“That’s fish talk,” he said.

Again, I pulled out Google and found a website that confirmed the story, but I can’t seem to find that information anymore. The discussion with that woman from Alaska still remains the most fascinating thing about that day, if you ask me.

Hubby, on the other hand, seemed to actually enjoy the Alhambra.

59 replies on “Differences In Taste”

I am laughing at your Michelin Starred Restaurant story, but can totally understand. Michelin Star doesn’t mean everyone will like what is served! Pre-formed notions often spoil the experiences – don’t they? I call it the Mona Lisa effect 😂 based on my personal experience of having the hype built up in my head over the years, only to be disappointed on facing a 77 cm x 53 cm little painting! I felt cheated 😂, because I’d literally run past so many other magnificent pieces of work in the Louvre (had limited time) to reach the Mona Lisa. So I am actually happier when I find things as part of exploration, instead of planning too much. Oh wow..I wonder why my replies to your posts get so long so as to be a post by themselves!

Liked by 2 people

The Mona Lisa effect is very describing! I’m happy I saw it 25 years ago when the crowds were still moderate. I even heard rumours it’s not the real painting on display anymore. 🤷‍♀️
I’m the same, I like to find things through exploration and for this reason I don’t plan trips much, don’t read a movie synopsis before I see it and only read book reviews afterwards!
Happy that you feel inspired to write long comments, I love them! 🤗 Keep them coming! 😊

Liked by 1 person

I too saw the Mona Lisa quite a while back – 2005! And I also don’t remember seeing any major crowds at that time. What happened since 😀. Anyway, glad that you enjoy the comments 😀

Liked by 1 person

Love your blog posts. I won’t eat raw fish anywhere (if Iknow it). I’m not sure I would have spit out the bite, but I would have prayed like mad that God would protect me. I’m confused about Celcius and Faranheit too. (I’m in the latter). But I’m pretty sure they both don’t get down to ZERO at the same time. zero in C. is 32 in F. And… I’m going to be using that phrase, “Fish talk.” Love it.
Keep up the fun writing.

Liked by 2 people

I became a picky eater when pregnant because I read about all the foods that could cause problems or even miscarriage. Now my kids are almost six but it’s hard to forget what I read! So no more raw fish for me anymore, either, unless it’s a very reliable source! (And I wouldn’t trust a new restaurant just because they have a Michelin star, apparently..!)

Like

Actually ceviche is not raw fish, it is fish “cooked” in room temp vinegar the same way you can “cook” fish by salting it. You can actually see the fish turn from translucent to opaque in the vinegar the same way it does in heat.

Liked by 1 person

Oh and -60 F is -51 C approximately. At -40 degrees, both scales are the same. But I am one of those who can’t understand anything under 0 degrees, it’s just too cold 😂.

Liked by 1 person

Lol, Fishtalk. We have that expression too. Fishermans Latin, we name it. 🙂 My converter says: -60 F is -52 C. That still is hellish cold! (Wich, I now discover, is a weird way of speaking.) I like the pictures a lot and I’m curious how I will think about the Alhambra next October. I was there a long time ago and then I found it very beautiful. (And I agree about Topkapi! Also because of the way it’s situated next to the Bosporus!) But, Snow, warm spread, I don’t think I would have even considered it being… ehm… fishy. Saying that, in the Netherlands we eat salted raw herring (with raw onions) so what is going to deter us anyhow? 🙂

Liked by 3 people

I remembered you were going, and will look forward to your photos! I think what put me off was how touristy it was. It probably wasn’t quite like that the last time you visited, but, again, looking forward to hearing your opinion. I felt like cattled being herded in one direction at a steady pace, we had no free will to pause somewhere because people kept coming and the workers kept shooing us forward!

Liked by 1 person

Once again, we are (or seem to be) on the same wavelength. In spite of having an adventurous nature in other ways, I am NOT a daring eater. You should have seen me wincing throughout Southeast Asia in the street markets. But upon re-reading, perhaps yours is just about raw fish, which I will sometimes eat, oddly! As for expectations, mine bubble up automatically and I have to work at tamping them down, or else I am often sorely disappointed. I have just started a post about Cambodia that begins with the idea of expectations … stay tuned!

Liked by 2 people

You’re right, Lexi! We are on the same wavelength. It’s not just about fish for me – and I do love sushi, but I’m very picky about where I get it – but honestly I weigh every choice. I wish I didn’t! And I would never eat from a food truck in Finland but in Paris I would happily eat from a crepe truck 🤷‍♀️ Perhaps because I did that so often when I lives in Paris, I’ve grown to trust them.
I’ve also developed some mild food allergies in the past few years and that restricts me, too. That and hygiene concerns!
Looking forward to your post about expectations – not the first time we’re simultaneously writing about similar topics!

Liked by 1 person

I’m like you. I’m fussy about the temps of foods, not wanting to get sick from bacteria or botulism or just a gross feeling in my mouth. I’ve been to the Alhambra but no one from Alaska talked with me. It was a pretty place to see, but on the day I was there it was hot, hot, hot.

Liked by 2 people

Very cold or very hot, yes, I’ve heard it’s like that in many places in Spain. It does affect the experience a bit.
I’ve had (mild 🤞) food poisoning twice from having a salad, both in my home town and at respectable places. So now I trust no one and scrutinize everything! 🤪 My table manners must seem worse than a child’s if you don’t know what’s going on in my mind 😆

Liked by 1 person

Great post. I learned a new expression “fish talk” which can be handy.
You really made a great point about expectations. In the corporate world I often hear “under-promise and over-deliver” to “manage expectations” which often leads to “sandbagging.” But then after the fact every engages in “fish talk.” 😊

Liked by 1 person

I remember seeing Kings of Convenience (who, as far as I know, are Norwegian) outdoor in Turin one summer evening. Erlend Oye complained about being cold! We in the audience couldn’t believe our ears!

Love the concept of ‘fish talk’!

Liked by 2 people

Yeah, it was a Birkenstock & T-shirt kind of affair but, then again, if you go in Scotland everyone is in speedos the moment it hits 10C!

Liked by 1 person

Hm… True, tastes differ. You can guess that I’d be busy enough with doors and these lovely Oriental patterns to last me the whole day. As for the room-temperature white spreads, in a Michelin restaurant? I wouldn’t worry one bit, and expect much worse. But the biggest truth is that expectations can spoil the experience. The best is just not to expect anything. And fish talk is a great expression!

Liked by 1 person

I would have eaten the spread, though I don’t consider myself a very adventurous eater. I do however make tiramisu with raw eggs and that disappears in a heartbeat around here! I don’t do raw fish though, which is pretty much sacrilege in Hawaii!
As for your disappointment at the Alhambra, I think expectations can really affect those kind of experiences. I love finding surprising experiences, which is getting harder by the day with social media. I’d rather visit a small church with one or two interesting features than a famous cathedral bulging with them and the inevitable crowds.

Liked by 1 person

Same here – I agree with everything you said about expectations. I just visited Paris and was very disappointed in my hotel because it was supposedly 4 stars and ”excellent” on booking.com. In reality it was just another Paris style 3 star hotel, in an old building that’s falling apart 😆 If they had sold it as 3 stars, I would have been content, but I was naively expecting something more. The receptionist called me a pessimist! 😂😂 But I would say I was an optimist, actually

Liked by 1 person

I had not been to Alhambra & Topkapi. Thanks for sharing the pics & experience. The least-expected places usually turn out to be awesome in my experience. About the warm spread, I would notice and swallow it anyway. As long as there are no herbs in there and it’s not rotten or had worms in it. 🤣

The “Fish-talk” is close to what we have here in Kuching. We called it “Prawn-talk” 🤣 Wonder why put it on the marine life. hahahah

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.