Believe it or not, I’ve never done a New Year’s post looking back at the past year. I was toying with the idea of doing one, but then I visited my talented photographer friend over at My Adventure Book, and it gave me the idea of using backlog photos. And boy, do I have a lot of backlog photos!

These photos are from 2022, I think it was the first weekend of October. It was an unspontaneous little wander in the woods and I borrowed my brother’s Pentax for just a moment.

We had a 5-minute picnic, too, after which all the forest animals had fled our noisy entourage. Just kidding, no animals were harmed. But we were pretty noisy, with two active five-year-old boys and their nagging parents. Especially after the kids’ tummies had been filled, boosting energy levels to running pace. My brother was the only one not making a racket.

This is obviously not what it looks like right now, because we are in the middle of winter. This is the very middlest of all middle parts, truly, with only a brief moment of sunlight that you need to be alert to catch. I’ll post some pictures when I get the chance. Hopefully before summer!

I recently had a conversation with a woman who was annoyed that my neighbourhood, a residential part of downtown Helsinki, the country’s capital, doesn’t have a forest of its own. The neighbouring areas do, but that wasn’t enough. She’s obviously Finnish, because Finns adore their forests. To them, nature isn’t nature without a forest.

I love nature, too, and forests, but this isn’t the first time I’ve had this conversation and I get annoyed, because Helsinki is surrounded by the sea, for goodness sake. There’s nature everywhere! We even have rabbits jumping around in my area, though many people see them as pests and want to get rid of them.

Like much of Helsinki, my area is by the sea, too. Forest lovers seem to completely disregard the fact that someone might simply enjoy living by the sea and going on seaside walks, sitting and staring at the horizon, listening to the waves. Without a forest in sight.

We’re all different. I actually like living in an urban environment, and as far as cities go, Helsinki is very small and green anyway. I didn’t grow up in a forest, and I don’t think my neighbourhood needs one. We have a nice park, a strong sea breeze and you can hear the horns of ships when it’s foggy.

These images are from just outside of Helsinki, less than an hour’s drive away. We don’t go there often, maybe once a year, because it’s a bit of a hassle and it seems family life just swallows our weekends.

It’s very quiet there, though it’s sometimes crowded with wanderers and picnickers. Ironically, though my kids are the loudest creatures in the forest, they really love its peacefulness and the calm quiet. “I really love this moment,” one of them sometimes says, in places like this.

I enjoy looking at the details: the tiniest plants sprouting upwards optimistically, the bright sunlight hitting the leaves, the unevenness of the forest hillside, with mossy rocks that look like a troll or a fairy might be living under them. But I know what actually lives under them…

Once last summer, we were visiting a child-friendly colleague of mine who lives in the countryside. She has a piece of forest of her very own and it’s full of blueberries. We did a little blueberry tour and my kids were asking her questions, loving it. They were curious and touched everything, even investigating a dubious-looking dropping of a large animal, which I obviously told them not to touch. (But they did. Ever the city girl, I happened to have hand sanitizer in my bag.)

And then they turned over a large stone, or was it a piece of bark. All I remember is that underneath, there must’ve been about 200 spiders!

Nature is everywhere. Even the sea and spiders need taking care of. Though if someone else volunteers for the spiders, I wouldn’t mind.

Happy New Year!

49 replies on “Forest Backlog”

I feel you, like my American friend often says, and that is not meant literally. Forests are cool (well, that indeed is rather literally) but a sea-lover is happy with woods at some distance. And a city-at-the-seaside-lover won’t object a forest somewhat farther away either. You are right of course, Helsinki isn’t a large city and forsests are abundent in Finland and at easy reach. Like you I’m a coast person, I love the vastness of views, meadows not obstructed by tall uprising entities called trees. But then, a walk in the woods sometimes really ís peaceful, the stillness, the filtered light, the smells, the gnomes underneath mushrooms friendly smiling at you… I love it, but then swifly back to the open fields. I hope 2023 will bring lots of sunshine, Snow, and above all lots of happiness for you and your family.

Liked by 1 person

Your comments are the best, Peter! They always make me laugh. And there’s wisdom, too: a sea-lover is happy with woods at a distance! Yes. I’m in a land where sea-lovers aren’t a majority, though, and it always surprises me. I don’t mind trees and even better if they are palm trees! But the sea or an ocean always wins.
All the best for your 2023, too!

Liked by 1 person

Beautiful pictures! I would love to visit Helsinki one day, and the fact that it is surrounded by the sea makes me want to go there even more! I think I’m definitely one of those people who prefer the sea over forests, but I guess not everyone is like that 😉 have a wonderful New Year!

Liked by 1 person

Helsinki really doesn’t seem like a city, I agree – at least when I visited. The forests in Finland are like those in Minnesota and Canada. I remember flying over them and wondering at the density. And all the lakes! Happy New Year!

Liked by 1 person

I love the photos of the pine tree. There is no better color than the soothing green of (new) leaves. There are very few green zones in my city, so the best I can do is to make a rooftop garden. It was a relief during the lockdown. Happy New Year! Wish you a prosperous year like the trees in the forest 🙂

Liked by 1 person

For the greater part of my life I’ve lived close to an ocean, but I do enjoy a forest walk. Washington State was great for those and there are a couple here that have a similar feel. As always, I love your spot on observations and the photos you share to illustrate your stories. Mind you, I would have loved to see a photo of the spiders! Wishing you and your family a Happy New Year and all the best for 2023 and, yes, the days really are getting longer even though I’m sure it doesn’t seem like that for you!

Liked by 1 person

There’s no way I’ll ever take a photo of a spider, let alone a pack of them! (A gang? What’s the correct term? A flock? Hah! Might have to google this later… or maybe better not!) Talking of the days getting longer, I had a really nice walk with my kid on New Year’s Day, and it really felt like spring for a glorious little moment. It’ll come, at some point! Happy 2023 (again) and keep camera-snorkeling when you can!

Liked by 1 person

Helsinki sounds like a fairy tale city! Living by the ocean and the forest merely an hour drive away. Best of both worlds, I sure hope to visit one day! It is too hot to live by the ocean here with heat almost all year long. Love your photos, it’s humbling and feels good to see. Too bad no spider 🕷️🕷️. Hehe!

Liked by 1 person

Thanks for the spiders (yikes!) and for reading. The sea here isn’t very clean, though, and our beaches are tiny, pebbly with murky water. Usually cold, too. Some locals swim, but I just dream of swimming in clear, tropical waters!

Like

How come it’s murky? The beach at my side is always murky like chocolate shake though its in the tropics. But the northern state called Sabah, they have really clear tropical waters and white sand. You will absolutely love it! You can see to the bottom of the sand! I stayed at the water chalet for diving a couple of years ago, just look down and I can see turtles floating by.

Like

I used to love forests. I have many wonderful childhood and young adult memories of deep woods, and they will always evoke great nostalgia in me. (My birth state name, Pennsylvania, is a direct nod to the heavy woods we have there.) Your photos, especially that pine tree close-up that Len mentioned, produce the same feelings. But … nowadays I seem to prefer more open spaces, whether they be seascapes or mountaintops. Still, a good forest day every once in a while is always a pleasure, and yours is just that!

Liked by 1 person

Your forest photos are lovely, With very warm temperatures where I live, it still feels like early fall. The only indication this is not so are the very bare trees and foliage who’ve long since gone to bed for winter.

Liked by 1 person

I’ve never done a retrospective year-end post either. Yours is delightful. The photos show such a wonderful peacefulness that I crave, living in a suburban area. Like you I enjoy looking at the details in nature. Well, anywhere actually, but especially outside in nature.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.