Share Your World

This week, I decided to participate in Cee’s Share Your World challenge for the first time. Cee asks a few questions each week and bloggers respond…

What is your favorite smell? What memory does it remind you of?

This one’s easy. Coconut scented sunscreen lotion, like Hawaiian Tropic. This always reminds me of happy days at the beach, somewhere hot and sunny.

A couple of years ago, I was working at the airport in an office job. The building I worked in housed crew bases for several airlines, and every now and then I’d catch a whiff of coconut sunscreen in the staircase… left behind by a flight attendant returning from somewhere exotic, no doubt. It always made my day!

What type of pet do you have or want to have?

I’m allergic so I don’t have any pets. Unless you count the cats and dogs of the internet… I love browsing cute animal pictures online – I’ll admit it!

Are you usually late, early, or right on time? 

I’m very impatient and horrible at waiting for things to happen or meetings to start. So I’m usually just on time – or a bit late. To avoid waiting!

For recharging, would you rather meditate, swim, walk, listen to music, write, read, yoga, qigong, other?

I’d love to swim but as I live in Finland, I rarely get the chance. Writing (blog posts) and reading can be relaxing – I also love yoga. During the past few years, I’ve come to really enjoy doing Yoga With Adriene videos at home. She’s awesome!

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for being healthy… I’m looking forward to mustering the energy to try out my new gym, hopefully this weekend!

The photos are from Helsinki, Finland, which is where I live. I’m not entirely happy with the framing etc but it’s just too cold to stop and take proper photos in the winter! Freezing fingers! These are from January 2014 and that’s probably my last attempt at taking winter photos.

23 responses to “Share Your World

  1. I am freezing just looking at your photos. You definitely get a lot of snow and cold in Finland. Thanks so much for sharing this week. Welcome to SYW. There is a great group of people here. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They’re really good pictures! of course, you’ll need better clothing and something special for your hands and camera to get out again during the winter months and take more of these… Isn’t Santa the solution? 😉

    Enjoy the snow but stay warm!
    and… yes, coconut scented anything is delicious!

    Jul’

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Growing up near the ocean, I bathed in Hawaiian Tropic coconut oil every summer – the oilier, the better. That was before we knew we had to have SPF. Your photos are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay, so fun that you are taking part in this challenge too ❤ I have a thing for Coppertone sun lotion. It does the same for me as Hawaiian Tropic for you. I don't think I can find Coppertone in Finland though but maybe it's available for delivery somewhere from the internet. Although I don't need suntan lotion at the moment, LOL!!! Love the photos, brrrrr…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Suvi, brrr indeed! Coppertone is a good one, too, and it’s not greasy at all, if my memory serves me 😉 But I’ve never seen it in Finland, either. Maybe if we used them all the time, we’d get bored of the scent…? (Though I doubt it!)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Those ice sculptures are awesome – much more artistic than your basic snowman! I use cocoa butter to moisturise for similar scented reasons. The children at school seem to think I smell of chocolate but it always reminds me of holidays. Although, I also have a scent crush on fresh creosote! Lovely photos despite your chilly fingers.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Really enjoyed reading this! I understand what you mean by feeling nostalgic due to a certain smell. The photos are brilliant, especially the first few ones as I love the hues of the sun on the sky! So serene. I think the sea in Finland is too cold to swim in even during summer, ha ha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

