Everyday Scenes

Caribbean cutie in Curaçao

The Daily Post’s photo challenge this week is about the ordinary or extraordinary.

I happened to do a post last week which would have fit this theme perfectly- about textures and the things you normally pass by.

So in this post, I’m taking a different approach: I’m doing cute mundane. Cats and dogs hanging out on the streets.

Some of the pictures I’ve already used before in earlier posts. That was before I crossed paths with most of you guys who follow me now, so you probably haven’t seen them.

I think it’s pretty interesting trying to imagine how pets and strays spend their days, when no one is looking. They have nowhere to be, no work timetables or chores. So this is what they do with their spare time.

Observing…

Happy looking dog in the Dominican Rep.

Acting as a tour guide…

Dog. Ushuaia

In Ushuaia, Argentina

Ok, we’re following you, but are you sure you know where we’re going?

Some more observing…

To see the whole post, click the link

This picture belongs to an old post which is in fact one of my personal favorites – it was a fun travel moment.

Relaxing after some mischief…

I only pose for photos if the colors are right!

In El Calafate, Argentina, we were followed for a while by the white dog in the picture above. He started out very curious, but once he realised we had no snacks, he decided he’d had enough of us and settled down for siesta instead.

Looking for shade…

Barcelona, Spain during a very hot day

This scene makes me think of ancient times for some reason. The wall looks so huge.

Quietly returning home…

This might be a domestic cat sneaking back home. In Uruguay

Who’s sneakier: me for taking this shot, which the cat doesn’t seem to appreciate, or the cat’s paused step, paw in air, looking like he just got caught?

“No paparazzis!”

28 responses to “Everyday Scenes

  1. Lovely post. I keep trying to take pictures of the ordinary streets and little scenes around me when I travel, but I don’t always remember. And yet when I do they’re often my favourite photos from a trip!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Same here – I also like a lot of photos that I took spontaneously, without planning, composing or really aiming, but with something interesting in them. I guess that’s the good thing about being a complete amateur photographer, I don’t have to stress about my photos, I can do what I want and no one expects perfection anyway 🙂

      Like

  2. I’d love to do an album of all the street animals I’ve photographed over the years! Yours are great – I especially like that white dog in El Calafate, mostly because it’s an awesome photo but partly because I associate El Calafate with hordes of street dogs! We had one that followed us home every night.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Flotte Bilder – det er alltid artig å se dyr når man er ute å reiser! Er så lite av det rundt om i Skandinavia, sikkert på grunn av den kalde vinteren:) Spesielt det første bildet av hunden som sitter på taket over Fotocopias skiltet fikk meg til å smile. Minner meg om backpacking i Guatemala:)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Tack, Inger 🙂 Jag tycker om den där bilden också. Jag tror att taket kanske är hundens favorita ställe, eftersom han ser så glad ut! Du har i alla fall sett massor av djur i Alaska och Kanada, det är alltid så roligt att titta på dina fina bilder 🙂 Jag har aldrig varit i Guatemala, låter intressant – skulle gärna åka dit för att backpacka!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Indah! 🙂 The stray dogs in Argentina were all like pets, following people but not aggressive at all, just very cute and cuddly. That dog on the roof in the Dominican looks like he’s smiling, I’m sure he didn’t jump 🙂

      Like

    • Oh, I’ll have to have a look at your post 🙂 I did a couple of posts on stray dogs when I first started blogging, but most people don’t look at old posts so I recycled a couple of the pics I liked 🙂 Recycling is good, isn’t it? 😉

      Like

Leave a Comment

