Symmetry and Magic

My previous post was a photo from Paris, so while I’m on the subject, here are some photos from Versailles.

The Palace of Versailles is located right outside of Paris and you can get there easily by the RER train.

Versailles was huge and surprisingly beautiful. Surprisingly, because I knew it had become a mass tourism destination and wasn’t sure what it would be like.

It was early autumn, the air was crisp and my friend and I had a solid cup of hot chocolate on the way to warm us up. By solid I mean that it was hot milk mixed with a thick chocolate paste, served separately – delicious.

At Versailles, the garden was way more interesting to me than the building – in fact, I barely remember the palace. All my photos are from outside.

In the garden, the symmetry, the lines and the circles formed a captivating entity. It was extravagant, disciplined, and also a bit whimsical. It reminded me of Alice in Wonderland.

When I now look through my photo collection from that day, what pops out are the cone shaped trees. I photographed them from every angle and now, they seemed to have taken on a life of their own…

It’s like they’re playing hide-and-seek.

 

25 responses to “Symmetry and Magic

  1. I just love it when a “touristy” place is amazingly beautiful and deserving of all those tourists. And you see that you didn’t waste any time in making it a priority. I was there so many years ago, it is like I was never there before. But your pics show that my memories were right.. pristine and manicured gardens!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This made me smile because the palace remained in my memory neither. As for the garden, it was 1991, I still had a film camera and I had saved 1 shot for Versailles after having spent 2 weeks in Cote d’Azure, Lyon, Loire castles and Paris. No wonder that now I’m clicking like mad. Love your cones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, the cones are my fave too 🙂 It was funny back in the “old days” when you saved one last picture in your film camera…. and then the film ended half a pic too early and when developed, it just had a vertical line in the middle, with the other half black… Those days, it was so different! Now, no saving, just click click! But maybe back then the photos were more precious, too?

      Liked by 1 person

      • You mean in the same way as watching only one cartoon per evening was precious? Or how it changed things that you didn’t get a chance to view a concert again, immediately, online? Precious has become relative, yes. In any case, I’m VERY grateful for the digitacy. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, many things are much easier these days, would be hard to go back… though on holidays it’s nice to disconnect! But film cameras… umm, no thanks. I love looking at art exhibitions with film pics but I’ll take mine digitally!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

