Bits and Pieces

I thought I’d answer this set of questions posed by Anna from Wayfarers, since it’s right up my alley. Travel, memories… this also goes well with Nihongo Japango’s Travel Trinkets and Memories challenge.

What has been your most memorable travel experience so far?

Visiting Hawaii is something I won’t forget. I’d dreamt of the islands for so long, since I was a child; picturing hula hula skirts, surfing, clear waters and tropical flowers… and I wasn’t disappointed! It really was exactly as I had imagined.

I think the first time the idea to visit Hawaii entered my mind was probably when I was around 12. A teacher at school had just returned from a long trip there, and after his return, I remember him wearing a Hawaiian shirt to class. The look was completed with a sharp, white mustache shape on his tanned face.

Have you travelled alone? If yes, where and when?

I’ve traveled alone so many times that I can’t answer this question accurately. Shanghai, Dubai, Stockholm, Copenhagen, all around Italy and France, Crete, Santorini, San Marino, Monaco, Brussels, Dublin, Málaga, and I’m sure I’m forgetting something.

Traveling alone is great! You get to recreate yourself, be someone different for a while if you want to – or just be anonymous.

Those trips were all in the 2000’s. These days, I prefer traveling in good company, i.e. with Hubby!

This traveled home with me from Aruba

What is the strangest food you have eaten?

I love food but I’m also a picky eater and when I travel I often don’t feel like tasting the most exotic things. Unfortunately, I’m not very adventurous that way!

The strangest thing I’ve eaten must’ve been a delicately parcelled, over-priced banana which I bought as a snack from a fancy department store in Tokyo. I had no idea they would gift wrap it!

What’s your weirdest, most unusual cultural experience?

Seeing toddlers in China wearing clothes with holes in the bottom, instead of diapers!

What is one destination you felt overrated?

I have a few places I weren’t too keen on, but I really don’t want to name them because it’s just my opinion, after all. I’ll say that in general, I don’t care too much for places that are so crowded with tourists that you can’t really see where you are.

It’s a paradox, I know, and I know that I’m just adding to that crowd myself. My solution is to try to travel off-season to get more of the local vibe.

Two-euro Chinese necklace, some kind of very heavy stone

Where would you go for an adventure of your lifetime?

Antarctica recently popped up in a conversation. I wouldn’t have thought of it earlier, because I love warm places and I get cold very easily, but now I’ve gotten into the idea.

After visiting Ushuaia and the Perito Moreno Glacier in Argentina, I really feel like visiting the real deal. That would be an adventure! Too bad it’s so expensive.

It’s still on the list, though!

What is your favorite cuisine?

I love Middle Eastern food: mezze, hummus… The best food I’ve eaten on a trip was in Dubai.

What place have you recently heard of, that you didn’t know about?

This would have to be Bodnant Garden or one of the castles Millie Thom has recently been describing in her blog.

Why do you blog?

I’ve dedicated a whole post to answer this – check it out!

Bracelet from a street market in Buenos Aires

Totally how many countries have you visited? Flight layovers/changes and work-travel do not count.

If work travel doesn’t count, I have no idea. I’ve spent the past 15 years working on and off in the travel industry, so travel equals work… (and leisure!)

I’ve often wondered if living in a (foreign) country should count as travel. And what about travels within a travel destination – are they to be counted as one trip or several? What about domestic travel?

What do you think?

19 responses to “Bits and Pieces

  1. Really interesting answers. I don’t think I’d fully digested just how many places you’ve seen! It must be strange for you to stay at home. I’d love to visit several of the places you mentioned, Hawaii being one of them, as well as Argentina (ever since reading your great posts about it). Thank you for linking to my blog! I’ve not posted anything this week because I’m not at home. Back to normal next week…perhaps. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I haven’t read your latest post yet, will do so soon! As the saying goes, sometimes life gets in the way of blogging… 🙂 …Anyway, those weren’t all the places I’ve visited, haha 🙂 I don’t know if I’ll ever get around to blogging about all of them! Argentina is the latest big trip, so it’s been a good starting point! Thanks for visiting me here, Millie, and have a great week, wherever you are! 🙂

      Like

  2. I think work travel should count as long as you get a chance to see things you would like to see and experience the country. I also think living somewhere definitely counts… that is travel multiplied or on steroids! I have never been to China but those diapers would be an interesting sight to see. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Toddlers in China wearing clothes with holes is hilarious; reminds me of Dennis the Menace. hahaha.
    I had missed out that you work in the travel industry. That’s awesome! Of course domestic travel and living in a foreign country counts. I, myself have been staying in a foreign county for two years now and exploring state by state.
    What I meant was not including a country where you spend your time attending conferences/meetings and leave as soon as its over.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve always thought it’s interesting counting the different ways of couting trips! Defining where the line goes between travel and …not travel – when travel becomes permanent 🙂 I’m happy to be following your adventures on your blog!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Fun answers … I took a photo of some adorable little twin boys sitting on a bench in China, and it was only when I got home and really looked at my photos that I realized both boys were flashing me a little more than I expected!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Nice post, I like reading questionnaires like this! 🙂 It is actually interesting how many different types of traveling there are. When I was traveling to conferences as a student I always used to try to take longer holidays around it to make the most of the flights, and I still try now but sometimes it’s not possible when they schedule meetings in the middle of the week. It’s so nice when the meetings align with weekends, then there’s more opportunity. I think if you live somewhere, you still do day trips around and that feels like traveling. If I was just visiting Berlin as a tourist I’d probably see all the usual tourist destinations like the Brandenburg gate and the Berlin wall, but living here I’ve found out about so many other great places nearby for cycling, kayaking and other adventures. It’s a great chance to explore a whole new region.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for the nice comment! 🙂 I wasn’t sure about writing this, I don’t like talking about myself – but then again I also enjoy reading about other people’s most exotic travel destinations or most memorable food experiences, etc, so I thought why not! I also used to travel a lot in e.g. France when I lived there for a couple of years. During my normal day, I didn’t feel like a tourist, but on day trips to other towns I felt like one, and it was a nice change every now and then to be in a different role 🙂 I agree with you, living somewhere you really hear about the best places to visit – and you also have the time! Thanks again for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

