From Ushuaia to the Beagle Channel

Ushuaia seaside view on a windy dayThree things about the Beagle Channel:

  • One shore is Argentina, the other side Chile
  • You really feel like you are somewhere out of reach, the isolation and the roughness of nature are beautiful
  • Seeing the Magellanic penguins and sea lions in their natural habitat is something you won’t forget (Isla Martillo and Isla de los Lobos)

Three things about Ushuaia:

  • The Maritime and Prison Museum was a pleasant surprise. Built in an old prison, it also features an art gallery and a section dedicated to Antarctic Explorers
  • The polar wind pierces straight through you, bring warm clothes!
  • The stray dogs are sociable. We had a stray dog follow us for hours, waiting for us whenever we went inside and insanely happy to see us again. Finally, a few locals told us that’s a dog they knew and that he’s just after a few cuddles, that’s all!
19 responses to “From Ushuaia to the Beagle Channel

      • No I havent been there. Yet. It’s in my top 3 for sure. It will take years to save up for it – I’ll have to go without voyages for a long period of time- but I think it will be worth it.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I think so, too. I also want to get better equipment for photos if I go there – though I only take pictures for my own pleasure as a complete amateur, I’d still like for them to look as good as possible if I ever go to such an amazing, exotic environment!

          Like

  1. Pingback: Blogging Flashback: Argentina Tips and Photos | The Snow Melts Somewhere·

  2. Pingback: Estancia Harberton | The Snow Melts Somewhere·

Leave a Comment

